God Is In The Details

It’s frustrating having to borrow a computer. I’ve got 15 mins to detail everything I’ve done in the past 10 days, and where to begin?

I taught my first lesson. It was just a short one, with 6 other TTCs as my students (in the hallway of the hotel as there wasn’t room anywhere else) but all things considered it went really well. Got lots of good, positive and constructive feedback, and I managed to remember nearly everything, which is a bit of a miracle.

We did the kriyas – yogic cleansing exercises today. You start off pouring salt water in one nostril and out the other, and end up vomiting great globs of water and swallowing lengths of cloths only to pull them back out your throat again. I have to admit, though I thried the nose based stuff, I drew the line at anything that got down to my stomach. I don’t care how good it’s meant to be for me, I ain’t vomiting for no man!

Though most of the food is vegan (except for the puddings) I did have to relent on one occassion and have a non-vegan main, as I was absolutely starving and the salad just wouldn’t do it for me. I’m not going to make a habit of it, I just needed the food. If you want to see what sort of stuff we’re eating check this out.

the yogic diet

Everyone’s got their aches and pains, and I’m no exception. Got a sharp pain at the top of my right thigh, inside at the front. Always had trouble with that leg, but this is something new. Just taking it easy for a while. Hopefully it’ll sort itself out.

Walking 10km into Kitzbuhnel didn’t help. Took me an hour and a half, but we had a day off and I had nothing else to do. Was a long, uninteresting journey (in the rain), but I did get to see this sign, which made me chuckle, so maybe it was worth it?

gute fahrt

No matter how yogic I get stuff like that will always make me laugh. Wait til you see the rosehip tea I found. πŸ˜‰

So all in all it’s going good. We work hard – up at 5:30am, bed at about 10pm – but we get time to rest, 2 square meals a day, and just enough homework to keep us busy but not enough to rush us. When it’s sunny you’ll find us on the terrace,

apple on deck

and when it’s rainy I look out at the log cabins up the hill and dream about a comfy seat and roaring fire.

how would you like to live here?

It’s challenging, but compared to night shifts and office politics it’s the easiest thing in the world. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “God Is In The Details

  1. You didn’t do the vomming? You wuss. I texted you yesterday asking how the teaching went but I’m thinking that my text didn’t get through like before. Those chairs on the terrace look strangely familiar – they must have got a job lot. Done any yodelling yet? Xx

    Like

    1. ..haha.. yup, I chickened out. never was a bit fan of throwing up. I stuck things up my nose, that was enough for me.

      the texts are coming through, it’s just my phone is off most the time. plus I know I’m texting you in the wee small hours your time, so I don’t expect a reply til the next day. the joys of time zones eh? πŸ™‚

      y’know what, I didn’t notice the chairs til you said. a job lot indeed. no wonder I feel so at home here, lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

