Yoga In Toodyay, WA

It’s all very well doing your at home yoga practice, but it’s nice to do it in a group, not only for the camaraderie, but also so there’s someone there to give you a bit of a push when you get lazy. So when I spotted the sign outside Toodyay IGA for yoga at the local community centre I jumped at the chance.

I went to the Friday morning class (two, as it happens, teaching on the second one!) and as I’ve already outlined previously, the morning of my first lesson was quite eventful already. By the time I got there I was in need of a bit of relaxation.

The teacher, Sally, who’s also a local Councillor, was very welcoming, even trying to get me to teach the class there and then once she found out I was qualified. But I was there to practice, so I got my bit of wall space and got ready.

It was quite a large group, mostly ladies with a bit of life experience, and the asanas were tailored to their level of stamina and flexibility. I actually found it very similar to some of the Yin Yoga classes I’ve attended.

That’s not to say it wasn’t challenging. My heart always fills with dread when the spread-legged forward bend is suggested. I can’t do it to save my life, and just sit there feeling silly and utterly inflexible.

It was a good class, and they very kindly invited me to tea afterwards, which was nice of them. We had a good natter, and I found out a lot of of gossip about people I have never and probably will never meet, lol.

the ladies of yoga

At Sally’s suggestion I turned up the next week with a lesson plan in hand. I was going to do a full Sivananda lesson, with chanting and everything, but with modified asanas more suitable to their level of experience. The ‘normal’ Sivananda lesson can be quite challenging, and I didn’t have the notes with me to be able to teach them a proper beginners class.

That’s not to say we didn’t do everything. There were forward bends, back bends, side bends, twists, inversions, breathing, chanting, and of course a proper final relaxation.

I’m glad to say they all did very well. Everyone had a good go at each posture, even the more difficult ones, and there were even a few smiles here and there, which is always a good sign.

They did better than me anyway. I messed up a bit, getting all lefty-righty during the Sun Salutations, and giving some wrong instruction for breathing during the neck exercises, but in the end I hadn’t broken anyone, and they all seemed good and relaxed, so I’m chalking that one up as a win, lol. 😉

Considering it was only my second ever time teaching yoga (don’t think I mentioned that to them at the time) it went very well. I didn’t make any major mistakes, and I only ran five minutes over time, but since we started late anyway I’m not counting that.

It was great experience, coming up with my own lesson plan, then adapting it as I went along, making allowances for both time and ability. I hope they enjoyed it as much as I did, and I’m very grateful they allowed me to share this experience with them.

What they made of the fact that I started teaching in jeans, as I’d forgot my mat and yoga pants, I do not know. Or what my brother thought when he turned up with said mat and pants, to find me sat in a room full of people chanting the Gajananam, I can only imagine, hehehe. I guess it was a world of new experiences for everyone that morning.

At least nothing gave birth this time. That would have been something else!

One thought on “Yoga In Toodyay, WA

Leave a Reply

