Money, Keys, Wallet, Travelcard

That was my personal mantra as I left the house for nearly fifteen years;

“Money, keys, wallet, travelcard.”

I can even tell you which pocket they all went in.

I’m flashing back to that now as I’m once more back in London. Actually, I’m kind of back back in London, as I got here a month ago, was here for two weeks, then went to Germany for two weeks to see my girlfriend.

But now I’m back in England for a while now, so I thought it was time for a bit of an update.

coming home 1

After Bali I did a week in Singapore. There’ll be a blog post about that, as there will be one about vegan food in Ubud, but since I expect the next few weeks to be relatively quiet, I’ll be doing them retrospectively to keep things interesting.

From Singapore I flew back to London when I spent a couple of weeks at a friend’s house, with a short side trip to move my things out of storage and up to my parent’s place (a trip that cost me nearly £1000 after the van I was driving got pranged along the way – I’m not happy about that).

coming home 2

Then I went to Germany for two weeks to see Lena. We had a nice time in and around Freiburg, culminating in a trip to Europa Park (also soon to be the subject of it’s own blog post).

Now I’m back in London, but only until the weekend when I go back to Carlisle to see about getting my car back on the road.

coming home 3

So what’s the situation right now? Well, I’m about £1500 in debt, with £500 in the bank. I’m trying to line up some freelance shifts at my old place of work, just six of which would wipe out the debt and put me in a much better position, but they are slow in coming, and anything I do now I won’t see the cash for for ages.

Plan A is to work freelance at my old profession, clearing debt and making money, whilst staying at Youth Hostels and using my car to get from place to place (storing my stuff in the boot).

Plan B, which I am implementing now on a short term basis, is to stay with my family for a while until Plan A kicks in. Not ideal as I’ll be a long way from London, but a lot cheaper than staying in hostels (and cheap is what I need).

Plan C. Should the freelancing thing not pan out, I could always spend some time working at the London Sivananda Centre. They’re keen for people at the moment apparently, and staying there wouldn’t cost me anything. Unfortunately it would also mean I couldn’t earn any money, as it would be like a full time job, so that would make it difficult to service my current debt.

Plan D – the last resort: Get a proper job. That means going back full time at the profession I am trying to get away from, to clear my debt and make some cash. This would also probably involve signing a contract on somewhere to live and staying there for a while, as I need some stability if I’m going to be working full time. But as you can tell, I do not want to do this. It would kind of negate the point of the whole big adventure/change in the first place.

But lets not concentrate on that. Lets look towards the ideal. To that end, I remain currently footloose and fancy free, on the look out for ways to make a bit of cash and places I can stay short term.

So if you’re in and around London, or anywhere in the UK for that matter, and you have a bit of work that needs doing, or are in need of a cat sitter for a while, just let me know. I am at your service. 🙂

And as for long long term…

I’ll be honest, I don’t know. I was very excited about the idea of living in New Zealand. But I realise that as long as there’s mountains and lakes I really don’t care where I am. Both Canada and Sweden would serve equally as well.

I still want to spend some time writing, see if I can make a go of that. And I would like to start teaching yoga on a regular basis, though until I am settled that could prove to be a little challenging.

Truth be told, I don’t know what I want just yet. There are too many imponderables, and my brain is taken up with the day to day of things for now, rather than the long term. But I promise, when I know, you’ll know. I can’t say fairer than that now can I? 😉

5 thoughts on “Money, Keys, Wallet, Travelcard

  1. You’re welcome to crash in Aylesbury for free short term if you can handle the squalor and the distance from London. Or super cheap long term. I could give you a lift in for your freelance night shifts.

    Like

    1. I am Lakshmi. 🙂 I’m avoiding the ‘back to reality’ mindset that everyone keeps trying to foist on me. It’s all reality, and there’s no reason I can’t be as I was over there, over here. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

