Knowing When To Do What

There’s a quote from the I-Ching, the Chinese Book Of Changes, that I like to keep to mind:

“A wise man knows when to advance,
when to retreat, and when to stand still.”

 
It often goes with another one in my head:

“If you want to make God laugh,
tell her your plans.”

 
go no further

I had big plans for this weekend when I woke up this morning. I was going to drive to Pirbright to see a friend of mine that I haven’t seen in ages, having lunch there before heading off to a late yoga class at the London Sivananda Centre.

Then tomorrow I was going to do some shopping, do a bit of online work, and then go along to the Sunday evening Satsang at the afore mentioned yoga centre. I was looking forward to all that. Then this happened:

not-so-level crossing

The YHA where I’m staying in Cheshunt is in the Lee Valley Park area, and there’s only one way in and out; and that’s it. It seems they’re tearing up the level crossing all weekend, and there’s just no other way in or out.

And so I find myself somewhat stuck, unable to leave until Monday morning, and certainly unable to follow any of my plans to fruition. It’s safe to say I was a little frustrated first thing this morning.

But, ultimately, what can you do? I can go nowhere, so why fight it? So, once I’d booked another two nights here, and changed my booking at the YHA in Holland Park, I went out and rewarded myself with a veggie fry-up at the cafe over the road. And y’know what, it was lovely! πŸ™‚

Being stuck has been somewhat of a pleasurable experience. I’ve done my washing, caught up on the latest Big Bang Theory, done a full yoga session with proper relaxation, and I’m feeling pretty good at the moment. Later I’m going to download a movie and watch it while I have supper, all before an early night.

***

You’ve got to go with what happens in life. Fighting against it will get you nowhere. That’s how I now find myself back doing TV work to earn a bit of money. It’s not where I want to be, but I’m a few grand in debt so I need to do something to sort that out.

Plus I need a bit of seed money for my future yoga experiences, including something to keep me going while I get my teaching off the ground. Quite how or where that teaching will be I don’t know yet, but I’ll figure that out when the time comes.

living out the boot of your car

For the moment I’m living out of my car and staying at Youth Hostels. It’s not a bad way to be, though I wouldn’t mind being able to stay in one place for a while. And the dorm room thing can be a bit of a pain, especially when I’m on night shifts. Every now and then I treat myself to a room in a Travelodge; coz I’m worth it, lol.

As for future plans, in February I’ll be turning forty, so to celebrate my girlfriend and I are flying to Iceland to see the Northern Lights. I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to that. I don’t have many things on my Bucket List, but that’s definitely one of them. It’ll be great. I just hope they make an appearance!

Unfortunately though, before I booked that, I got rid of the lovely beard I’ve been cultivating since Australia.

beardy face

I took the above photo as a record of how full it got before I got rid of it.

I kind of miss it now it’s gone, I got used to playing with it, and it certainly kept my face warm. I’ve no doubt I’ll miss it greatly when the Icelandic wind-chill factor kicks in! Still, if I can get to see the Aurora Borealis it’ll be worth the discomfort.

And I think that’s about it for now. Just a quick update on what I’m up to at the moment. Once I have more news you’ll be the first to know.

Keep an eye out for the Iceland post, coming some time after the 8th of Feb (my birthday, πŸ˜‰ ).

5 thoughts on “Knowing When To Do What

  1. Hi Keith, nice to hear what you’re up to. If you find yourself stuck in colindale again, you could always head further out of town… I hear there some nice yoga to be had in St. Albans and Harpenden… Ha! X

    Like

    1. I know there is, but that yoga was in Goa until the other day wasn’t it? πŸ˜‰

      Believe me, next time I’m staying up in Cheshunt I’ll pop along to one of your Yin classes. They sound great.

      Like

  2. This post made me happy on so many levels. You’re absolutely right, sometimes you have to go with what life gives you. It sounds like you’re making the best of what life is handing you right now and I love your positive zen attitude to it all.

    I am SO extremely envious that you are going to Iceland. That is something I must do. That should be an extraordinary birthday experience!

    And was there a reason you got rid of the beard? It is definitely nice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

