How Do You Get To Carnegie Hall?

Guess what? I’ve discovered this amazing new way to get really good at yoga! All you have to do is just lie around all day binge watching Britain’s Got Talent on youTube. That’s what I did last night, and I want to get really good at yoga, so it stands to reason that it must be true, right?

undoing all the good work

It’s my long standing lament. “I should do more yoga!” Say what you like, but it’s the only way you get good. How do you get to Carnegie Hall? Practice, of course. But how much practice should you do? Well, that all depends on what you want to get out of it.

If your aim is to get really stretchy really fast, you’re probably talking a couple of full sessions a day (maybe 3-4 hours in total). That’s how much I was doing during my Teacher Training Course, and after a month of that I was finally able to do a proper, legs-straight Plough for once (now a long and distant memory). Now I’m not in any rush to get bendy, but I would like to do a proper, head-to-knees, sitting forward bend once before I die.

om by the pool

But yoga isn’t all about the gymnastic contortions, is it? It’s also about Realising The Self (what the Buddhists would call Enlightenment). The original purpose of the asanas was to allow you to be able to sit and meditate for longer, without getting all stiff or sloppy in your lotus pose.

So how long should you practice if self realisation is the goal? Oh, about twenty fours hours a day, three hundred and sixty four days a year (you can have Christmas off, lol). Because practicing Mindfulness – the path to self realisation and the purpose of meditation – is never ending. It’s not just about the exercises. Mindfulness should be in everything you say, think, feel, do and are.

salabhasana - the locust

Ok ok, I hear you say, so how much to be able to sit and meditate properly? Or to just stay healthy? Well, I can only speak for myself, but I like to do a full session a day when I can. I’m talking an hour to an hour and a half every day. That usually keeps me in a flexible mood. But unfortunately, that’s not always possible.

If I’m working (twelve hour shifts!) I do what I call the bare minimum: Pranayama (breathing exercises), Sun Salutations, a few extra asanas if I have time, and at least five minutes Final Relaxation (the most important part of any practice). Then on my days off I do a full session. I find this is enough to keep me on an even keel, though sadly not enough to make any advances asana-wise.

mayurasana - the peacock

At the end of the day, who’s to say how much you should be doing? As I said at the start, it all depends on what you want to get out of it. The only thing I can say for certain is, only you know if you’re doing enough or not, and if you feel you should be doing more, then chances are you probably should.

I know I should, but I’m not going to beat myself up about it too much. Little and often, that’s the key. And for now, with all the work and traveling that I do, as long as I can do a little something every day I’m going to count it as a win (clip binges and cake notwithstanding, lol).

Leave a Reply

