Be A Record Breaker

I don’t know about you, but one of the things on my bucket list is to be a real winner and bag myself a Guinness World Record.

the conkerer (and his defeated foes)!

It’s kind of been a thing for me ever since I was a kid. I used to watch Record Breakers on TV and be fascinated by the bizarre records people would set. From sitting on a pole (current record 439 days, 11 hours, and 6 minutes) to baking the world’s largest mince pie (1.02 metric tonnes), it was amazing what these people would get up to.

But I never thought I’d be able to join their ranks. 439 days on top of a pole? How is that possible! Who has the time? So as I got older such dreams were forgotten in lieu of ‘grown up things’; or at least they were until I heard about the comedian Mark Thomas accidentally setting the world record for Most Protests In Different Locations In A Single Day (20 demonstrations in 20 different locations in 5 hours and 15 minutes – he actually did 21 but the first and last were in the same location so it was agreed only one of them would count).

Now if he can set a world record by accident, surely I could set one on purpose, right? But that brings up the eternal question; which world record?

Now I do have a couple of ideas. I’m tempted to go for Most Headstands At Famous Locations, though I’m unsure what the criteria for a ‘famous location’ would be? I have an idea for a walking thing, though I don’t want to go into too much detail about that in case I get pipped at the post. I’d like to maybe do a yoga one, but what yoga records are out there at the moment?

me and my new qualification

A quick search on the Guinness Book Of World Records’ website comes up with a bunch of things:

The record for the Longest Yoga Marathon by a Man was set by Yogaraj C.P. in 2015, with over 1200 poses in 40 hours and 15 minutes.

The record for the Longest Yoga Marathon by a Woman was set by Yasmin Fudakowska-Gow in Canada in 2010, with 1008 poses is 32 hours.

And the record for the Largest Yoga Lesson was set just last year in India, on World Yoga Day, with 35,985 people participating.

So if you’re feeling ambitious there’s a few records you can go for. But, amazingly, I came across a couple of records that are listed but have no holder.

tolasana - scale pose

Fancy going for the record for the Longest Time Holding The Scale Pose*? It’s up for grabs. Or if you’ve got nine friends and a teacher spare why not go for the record for the Longest Yoga Lesson.

*If you don’t know how to do the Scale Pose (Tolasana), here’s a youTube video that explains how.

I’m tempted by the Scale Pose one myself. I mean, I’d be lucky if I could hold it for a minute, but since it’s currently vacant that’s all you’d need to set the record, right? (though it might be an embarrassing record to hold, compared to 40 hours of yoga, 35,985 participants, etc.)

Maybe some of you would like to give it a go? If so you can apply through Guinness World Record website. They’ll give you all the information you need, including criteria for setting the record and how to prove you did what you did.

I’d love to know I’d inspired someone to have a crack at a world record, and if any of you do indeed have a go please come back and let us know how you got on. We’re all rooting for you! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

