How Not To Do Something

Today (Sunday 20th March, 2016) is the fortieth day of lent. That means forty days since pancake day. Or more to the point, forty days since I gave up Pringles.

Not just Pringles of course, but all deep-fried, salty, sugary, snack goods. And I’m proud to say that I did it. Not a single crisp has passed my lips for the past six weeks. My lental abstinence has been a success.

And the key to my success? The best way to give something up? Simple; just don’t do it.

I know, I know! It’s a sucky answer. But it’s the truth. If you want to give something up, you just don’t do it. But you just don’t do it one day at a time. Or an hour at a time. Or even a minute at a time (though that would make time go by so slowly).

Don’t think about giving something up for forty days, or a year, or a lifetime; just get through today, then tomorrow, and pretty soon those days all start to add up. And if you need some inspiration just think of this quote:

“Every day gets a little easier.
But you gotta do it every day; that’s the hard part.”

The same goes for adding something positive. Do it every day, and pretty soon you’re doing it all the time.

Unfortunately my attempts at adding a positive at the same time as removing a negative didn’t work out. My meditation lasted about four days before coming to an end. No excuses, it just is what it is. I guess I’ll get back to that another time. Everything has it’s time, and I’m certainly not done with meditation yet.

In celebration of my achievement, and to mark a new beginning for my ‘cleansed’ self, I decided to get a haircut and shave the beard.

shave and a hair cut (two bits)

I went down to a number two, which is the same as I had when I went to do the TTC. It’s symbolic for me, and I hope it’ll help spur me on to do more yoga than I have been doing recently (my injury, which was getting in the way, is finally starting to calm down).

It’s a new beginning for me, and hopefully a profitable one too. But I’m not worrying about it too much. I’ll just do a little bit every day, let those days add up, and then one day I’ll maybe find myself a thousand miles away. πŸ˜‰

**Come back next week for a special giveaway to launch the new and improved Yoga Bum!** πŸ˜€
 

Leave a Reply

